Cape May Peninsula (AVA)
  Sign In
Subscribe to our newsletter
Bookmark and Share  

TTB established the 126,635-acre "Cape May Peninsula" American viticultural area, May 7, 2018 in Cape May and Cumberland Counties in New Jersey. The Cape May Peninsula AVA area is located entirely within the established Outer Coastal Plain viticultural area. Submitted by a local wine industry member on behalf of the ad hoc Cape May Wine Growers Association. Cape May Peninsula AVA contains 126,635 acres, with 6 commercially-producing vineyards covering approximately 115 acres distributed throughout the proposed AVA, and an additional 147 vineyard acres planned within the proposed AVA in the next few years. Grape varieties planted within the proposed AVA include Albariño, Dolcetto, Tempranillo, Nebbiolo, Merlot, Barbera, Moscato, Malvasia, and Viognier. Temperature is the most important distinguishing feature of the proposed Cape May Peninsula AVA. Soils in the proposed AVA are mostly loamy sand, whereas the soils in the existing Outer Coastal Plain AVA are a sandy loam. According to the petition, soils best suited to viticulture are well-drained, where the water table is a minimum of six feet or deeper. These types of soils include Downer, Evesboro, Sassafras, Fort Mott, Hooksan, Swainton, and Aura. All of these soils are present in the proposed AVA and in the Outer Coastal Plain AVA; however, the Outer Coastal Plain AVA contains additional soils not found in the proposed AVA, including Hammonton, Waterford, Galetown, and Metapeake.