Upper Hudson (AVA)
  Sign In
Subscribe to our newsletter
Bookmark and Share  

The proposed Upper Hudson AVA includes all or portions of Albany, Montgomery, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, and Washington Counties in New York. The distinguishing feature of the proposed Upper Hudson AVA is its climate. The region south of the AVA, which includes the established Hudson River Region AVA, is classified as zones 6a and 6b, with average minimum temperatures between -10 and 0 degrees F. According to the petition, grape varietals commonly grown within the established Hudson River Region AVA include Seyval Blanc, Baco Noir, Cabernet Franc, Pinot Noir, Vignoles, and Traminette.